NYAF 08 Day 1 Coverage

This is my 1st time ever, traveling to a foreign place, alone. Fly all the way from CA just to meet Tanaka RIE.

Creepy gingerbreadman set to make little children cry

Creepy gingerbreadman set to make little children cry

Arrived in New York LGA at around 9am on 26th Sept . It was troublesome enough for me to carry all my stuff around town just because I can only check-in at 3pm.

The entrance

The entrance

NYAF 08 was held at Jacob Javits Exhibition Center, downtown Manhattan. Weather was on the not good side because it rains w/ gust of winds.

The NYAF guide, very well printed

The NYAF guide, very well printed

The convention hall was so big and packed, way bigger than the grandest Malaysian ComicFiesta ever had. It was big to the scale of 7x.

the size the size the size

the size the size the size

Since im having fever now, less text and more pictures 。・゚・(ノД`)・゚・。

One of the fashion exhibitor

One of the fashion exhibitor

Project Ch... Aiko

Project Ch... Aiko

This is a prototype of Chii for the future. Its and android and can move. But the AI still need to be controlled. Do support this team by visiting www.projectaiko.com and see what you can support.

I was not totally alone during this con, as i met a new friend Danny from Miami on a bus. So went all over the cons to snap pics of cosplays.

3

Maids :3

MaidoCafe!!! But i didnt try the beverages as I was fasting. Sorry girls.

Gaban? Kamen Rider? Cant remember

Gaban? Kamen Rider? Cant remember

Team WCS Osaka

Team WCS Osaka

Yoko

Yoko

Simon & NiA

Simon & NiA

Mikuru

Mikuru

?

?

Soi Fong

Soi Fong

FF

FF

Bleach

Bleach

All these pics were snapped with sony Alpha300 w/ 18-55mm kitlens, custom WB with no external flash.

The difficult part is that theres 2 halls and both have different downlight. Duh~

For more of Day 1 pics, do checkout my flickr. Feel free to comment and critique my pics.

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “NYAF 08 Day 1 Coverage”

  1. Brian says :

    The ‘?” is Izumi Rio of Full Moon wo Sagashite holding a Jonathan ghost. Also I believe that mask and those eyes are from Kamen Rider.

    By any chance, are you still fasting?

  2. C221 says :

    That’s definitely Kamen Rider.

    I was there on Day 2 :3 Any coverage on that?

  3. e-jump says :

    @Brian: Thanks for the notification, will fix that later.
    We moslems just ended our fasting month on 30th Sept. Today, 1st Oct is EID Mubarak.
    It seems the difference in weather on NY and CA, im down with fever ( ´Д`)

    @C221: Thanks. Its been some time since i watched Kamen Rider.
    Day2 and 3 will be up as soon i fixed my pictures.
    Do wait :3

  4. Brian says :

    I see, the stress is killing me lately and I got my fever yesterday. It did a number on me, since I woke up 5AM EST without an alarm clock for 3 continuous days after the Sunday convention. Sadly, I don’t know how to deal with it -_-.

    By the way, did you ever get my 4-5 mails? Sorry I went overboard.

  5. e-jump says :

    @Brian: Thanks for the mails.
    I’ll be replying to it tonight.

  6. greendap says :

    YO! YO! YO! its Danny ^_^ , it has just being a couple of days. Since we were at the NY Anime convention. So how is it going ?

  7. Aoshi says :

    Dear ejump, TAKE ME WITH YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUU…

  8. Panther says :

    Holy shit. Fat Soi Fong.😦

    FF girl is Yuna from FFX. Bleach characters in the last photo are ex-Espada Nel Tu, still the brokest bad guy ever Aizen Sousuke and the gay Espada Szayel Apporo, from left to right.

    Big cons are big.

  9. e-jump says :

    @GD: Sup Danny. Thanks for dropping by. Im recovering from my fever,but the caugh wont be going away as of now.
    Still fixing and uploading my pics.
    Working on RIE now.

    @Panther and Aoshi: It was well worth it to travel far just to see her.
    If somehow your favorite idol is appearing on major cons as this but quite far, JUST DO IT

  10. Brian says :

    Glad to see you are doing alright. I hope you feel better.
    I agree, LOL, JUST DO IT, even if it kills you. I wish I did something like that in the future.

  11. greendap says :

    Glad that you are feeling better, you still in California? Share your pics with me sometime. I have some also if you want, from New York and the Anime festival.

  12. e-jump says :

    @Brian & GreenDap:
    Yeah, currently im on cough suppression sweets. Hope theyre strong enough.
    Im currently working on Rie’s panel pics.
    Will send some high res pics to you guys when theyre ready

  13. Quidley says :

    good blog
    it’s very useful.
    Thanks.

  14. bebek says :

    I was reading something else about this on another blog. Interesting. Your perspective on it is diametrically contradicted to what I read earlier. I am still pondering over the opposite points of view, but I’m inclined to a great extent toward yours. And no matter, that’s what is so good about advanced democracy and the marketplace of thoughts online.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. NYAF 08 Day 1 Coverage : Anime News Updated - October 2, 2008

Leave a Reply

